Self-Analysis

Helllllllloooo everyone! πŸ™‚
How’s your Thursday going? Mine’s pretty good… VERY TIRING but good. I finally have time to relax now (relax =blog, woo!)… Anywhooo I’d like to give you a full play-by-play of my Tuesday.. yeah, I’m aware that was 2 days ago, but now I finally have time to go over it… get it?

For Nutrition class, Our assignment is to write down everything we eat for 3 days, and then enter it into this computer program:

And through this, we have to analyze our diets and see what we need to change! Personally, I’m not a huge fan of writing everything I eat down and then analyzing it. Mostly because I’m the type of person who will mindlessly go on Snacking Adventures, which quite frankly, I don’t feel like writing down. But for the purpose of this class- I’ll deal with it. (and measure everything, ugh.) I also didn’t like entering everything into the program, seeing how many Cals, etc. I ate- I rather just eat it, enjoy it, and be done with it. I felt like it got me thinking too much about what I was eating, I guess. Does anyone else feel this way? Or do you like knowing how much your eating/ portioning things out and knowing your calorie intake? Either way is fine: To each his own; it’s just important not to get too obsessed with the intakes, etc. I know I’ll learn a lot by doing this, and that even though I don’t THINK I need to change anything, I’m sure I could IMPROVE in some areas.
So without further adieu, here’s the my schedule, food(taken by my phone; sorry, folks!) & some of my unnecessary comments πŸ™‚ >>>>>>>

7:30 Wake Up… woo! school!

I’m a pretty slow getting ready-er, so I made myself some Oat bran to enjoy during class:

Oat bran- To- Go


1/2 Cup Oat Bran
1 Cup Milk
1 Cup Water
1 Banana
1 Tbsp. Each Wheatgerm & Flaxseed
Cinnamon
2 TBSP Peanut Butter

8:30- 9:55– Enjoy my Oat bran while I don’t enjoy Psych Stats class πŸ™‚

10:00-2:00 (Yes, 4 Hours, no exaggeration) TRACK PRACTICE! (see, this is why I can’t post all the time! hehe)
This consists of:
-25 Minutes of Jogging+Warm-up Drills (did them super fast)
-1 1/2 hours of bounding, bungee work (so fun! and felt good!), “hump jumps”, and other jumping drills
-120m sprints, 2×80 meter sprints (3 minute rest between each)
-45 minutes of weight room
-15 minutes abs
-15 minutes stretching
+Ice Bath (woooo!)
(all the time is estimated, ish, it all adds up to 4 hours somehow, but *** I am not WORKING OUT for 4 full hours, a lot of it is taking breaks in between jumps, changing, resting, icebathing, etc.***)
In between Practice and Weight Room I had an apple, and during practice/lifting/after I had a Clif Bar:

Banana Nut Bread Clif Bar: You never let me down πŸ™‚

2:30 Then I trekked back up to my room and enjoyed a whole wheat sub with some grilled chicken, eggplant, and spinach:

&some brocc

Pre- Microwave Nukage

3:00 I hopped in the shower, and got hungry…again (love the afterburnnnn)

3:10– Enjoyed this snackypoo:

I love that my Kashi Heart to Heart is in a heart shaped measuring cup πŸ™‚


Clearly I got hungry and was eating out of the measuring cup and then realized that I needed to take a picture^^

3:30-4- I blow dryed my hair, talked to my friend who broke his leg at one of the last track meets pole vaulting :(… He showed me the bruising and the swelling, I feel so bad :/…It’s crazy what you can do to your body falling from 16 feet above the ground!

4-4:30- Straightened my hair, put on my makeup, got dressed, and ate a grapefruit:

Excuse the awful Cellular Pic, this looks terrible, but it was actually quite delicious πŸ™‚

At 5:30 I ran, literally to catch the bus to get to my next class downtown. Legit, the bus was leaving and I ran in front of it to stop it… awesome, right?! Ha!

I had class downtown from 5:50- 8:50– Introduction to Human Development, we talked about Breastfeeding for 3 hours… kill me now. Luckily, I brought food to keep me occupied:

Some delish Decaf Green Tea:

Along with an unpictured Oats N’ Honey Nature Valley Bar

9:13 – Caught the bus back to campus, and walked up to my room in the snow and arrived at 9:30

9:45 Clearly hungry, I enjoyed some Plain Oikos with protein cookie dough πŸ™‚

Why are you so freakin' delicious?!

&Throughout the Day, I drank 142 oz. of water.

Okay, now here comes the Self-Analysis thanks to the lovely computer program:
(IF YOU CARE, The first # is what I consumed, the second # is the amount I’m “supposed to consume” **Doesn’t take into account activity level, So Mine is skewed**, and the third is the percentage of what I took in compared to how much I was “supposed to” consume:

Basic Components
Calories 3,096.95 2,546.68 122 %
Calories from Fat 639.34 713.07 90 %
Calories from SatFat 112.26 229.20 49 %
Protein (g) 161.35 50.80 318 %
Carbohydrates (g) 527.33 350.17 151 %
Sugar (g) 183.42
Dietary Fiber (g) 80.82 35.65 227 %
Soluble Fiber (g) 19.70
InSoluble Fiber (g) 26.54
Fat (g) 71.04 79.23 90 %
Saturated Fat (g) 12.47 25.47 49 %
Trans Fat (g) 0.00
Mono Fat (g) 8.31 28.30 29 %
Poly Fat (g) 12.07 25.47 47 %
Cholesterol (mg) 123.90 300.00 41 %

HERE ARE MY COMMENTS:
1. It’s annoying because since my activity level isn’t taken into account, everything isn’t as accurate as I would like it to be (being that I am putting effort into this)- I added the activity level somewhere else and it said I was eating the right amount of calories, so that made me happier haha
2. I didn’t eat NEARLY as much this day as I do normal days- 3,000 Cals. is a decent amount of food, I probably take in 3,500/day… danggggggg (see, but I’m thinking about it… I don’t WANT to think about it! haha)
3. I didn’t include the vitamins&minerals on here, but they were all well over 100%, so woo! go me! (right?)
4. I’d rather snack and not measure, it takes the fun out of digging my hands into a a box of cereal
5. To be rebellious, I snacked on prunes somewhere in here, but didn’t write it down (but then I eventually added it to the program, so they’re on here, anyway! haha)
6. This was really not so bad, I’m just being dramatic, sorry for the complaining!

So the goal is to improve, but I’m not sure exactly on WHAT I need to improve on, yuzzherd?! So if anyone has any suggestions to help me out and let me know what I can do to improve, I’m ALL EARS! Really!

Have a wonderful rest of your day, everyone! I’m off to take my laundry out of the dryer (then fold it), THEN read blogs!!!! yay! I’m exciting to see what everyone’s eats look like!
Michelle

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Self-Analysis

  1. Okay first off I think that for someone like you this is NOT BENEFICIAL AT ALL!!! It doesn’t take into account that you are a collegiate athlete and your calorie needs (as well as rations from carbs, lipids, and proteins) is going to be hugly different than the average person.

    Also…I agree that for me calorie counting is not fun and I don’t do it. I don’t want to. I would rather just enjoy the food, make healthy choices and exercise. But I do see the necessity for some people to do it. Not everyone is active I am (or you are) and they need that to help keep them accountable for their food intake.

  2. WOW!! 4 hours is dedication!! I’m so not an athlete, but I have such an admiration for those who are!! πŸ™‚

    Your Kashi H2H is too adorable in your heart shaped measuring cup! πŸ˜‰

  3. GIRL you are a beast and you need a LOT OF FOOD! calorie counting is lame..and easy to get obessed with..do NOT start counting! i LOVE the way you eat and you look GREAT..you eat for energy!!!

    LOVE yo snacks AS ALWAYS!
    and i always eat during class!! muahahah

  4. This is something I’d actually LOVE to do. I usually weigh and track everything anyway because I’m not a mindless snacker and what I put into my meals I so often think of as a “precise” recipe. But I also don’t count calories at the end of the day, even though I totally have the option available, so I’m not sure how much I’d like knowing that. I think I wouldn’t mind, but I’d hate to say that and be wrong

  5. Megan

    That’s really cool that you got to do that! I’ve never really tracked how many calories/nutrients I get in a day.. I bet I’m missing something huge! I’m a huge mindless snacker too so I bet my stats would be interesting πŸ™‚

  6. Dana

    youre awesome πŸ™‚

  7. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    omg i am in love with your heart shaped measuring cup, i have such an obsession with heart realted things, and not just cuz it’s singles awareness month! SO WEIRD, i was enrolled in intro to nutrition this semester but when i saw on the syllabus that we had to track our food EVERY DAY (in that same computer program you used!) i decided it was a no-go. sadly i track what i eat everyday anyway, but it’s a habit i’m trying to BREAK, not one i want to reinforce by making it mandatory hw! not cool. life/food shouldn’t work that way

  8. ughh I hate the calorie counting too! I used to be a counter and it drove me WACKY! so I stopped. there was also no point in that, I do much better eating intuatively. I had to do this for a class in college though too,we also had to pretend we were diabetic and prickout fingers 3x a day for a week, sweet huh?
    anyyyyways your food looks awesome, I love that you are prepared for class!!

  9. I’m like you- I hate counting calories, mostly bc I’m too lazy too count, but also bc I eat a LOAD. I can’t imagine ever surviving off of less than 2000 calories anymore honestly, haha. FOOD IS AMAZZZZING πŸ™‚

  10. ohh girlie girl!!..gahhh I had to do this Diet Analysis for my nutrition class last year too and….hated it! haha! I LOVE your MANTRA…I always like quotes from famous athletes…they pump me up! I hope you are having a great friday chica!

  11. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    thank goodness for you!!! i am so glad you eat that much (haha sorry sometimes i get worried bc i fel like some bloggers just dont eat a lot and it is hard). you are SO active and it seems like you are fueling your body so well!! i think that counting calories/grams/etc. is sUCH a slippery slope for any girl, eating disorder or not and i hope you dont let it get to you too much bc only you truly know your body πŸ™‚
    eats look so great though! a lot like mine. like my school sells those sabra hummus things and that sushi and that oatbran to go thing is so smart!! does it stay warm?

    xoxxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  12. Wow 3500 cals a day! That’s awsome! You need it with all your exercising tho πŸ™‚

  13. strawberrysuitcase

    breastfeeding–ahh! yesterday, i passed by the family restroom. it read “lactation room.” i about gagged, haha.

  14. Every wedding I went to last year I gave heart shaped measuring cups and spoons with a little message about putting vitamin L into all the food they cook. It was more thoughtful than a card/money (and less expensive)…

    Vitamin L is “Love” of course!

    I probably eat close to 4,000… I am anti calorie counting.

  15. That chicken eggplant sub looks AMAZING!
    Yeah personally, back when I was with my enemy anorexia- I used to log on my calories obsessively on sites- and due to my ED history, I no longer do that and would actually hate to out of fear of being triggered- if I just eat when I’m hungry, stop when I’m full, and in the back of my mind know I’m getting in all my food groups I don’t find it necessary to log my stats. I remember in high school PE they made us keep food diaries for two weeks- looking back, I don’t know how good of an idea that was considering how many girls had eating disorders.
    But yeah anyhowwwwww- I know you don’t have an ED history but I still feel that all that logging and stuff can be tedious and just blah- especially since you work out so much so you need LOTSA fuel.
    All the food looks amazing as always!

  16. Ack, I HATE calorie-counting…It brings up a lot of negative memories for me, to the days when I was OBSESSED with it. I think calorie-counting has both advantages and disadvantages…and it fits different personalities. Some people should stay clear away from it, while others might benefit from it.

    I think it should only be for people who are overweight and clearly need to be on a diet. And if not, there really is not point in calorie-counting and potentially losing your ability to eat intuitively.

Leave a Reply

