Track Meet Eats

Hey Everyone! Happy Saturday:) I hope everyone’s having a great weekend! As I said in my last post, yesterday I had a track meet the NYC Armory, basically it’s the place to be for indoor track meets. Personally, I didn’t do so hot… I Fouled All 3 of my Triple Jumps :/. I think it’s because I was babying my knee a lot. My coach said to take a little time off doing exercise bike and swim stuff because Conferences is really what matters.. but i want to be okay to jump this weekend,but I honestly don’t know if that’s even an option :(…

Anyway, today I decided to show you all how I fuel DURING a track meet (the name of this blog is called Snacks and Field so it makes sense!) The following is basically a schedule (including foood!!!) of my whole day, Enjoy!>>>>

Woke up at 6:15 (5 hours of sleep- wooo!)
Packed all this food for the meet:

Meet Eats: Gatorade (drank 1/2), carrots, PB&J, Dark Chocolate Truffle(didn't eat), 2 Nature Valley Bars (ate 1), Pretzel Crisps, Thomas's Whole Wheat Bagel, Trail Mix(Craisins, Walnuts, TJ's Dark Choco Raisins, Orange (didn't eat), Apple, and Banana Nut Clif Bar


I also drank a lot of water but it’s hard to document at a track meet.

7:15 Went down to Catch the bus at 7:30 & Ate some Breakfast
: 1 Cup Oatmeal (yessss- LOVE track meet Oats), 1/2 Cup Pumpkin, 2 Cups Milk, 2 TBSP Almond Butter, Banana, Cinnamon, Vanilla

Packed in Tupperware for the busride πŸ™‚


This was one of the best “bowls” of Oatmeal I’ve had in a while… It had some time to cool and legit tasted like pumpkin pie… soo good!

We then had a 3 hour (a little more…) bus ride to the city… After I finished my oats, I attempted to sleep while listening to my iPod but it really didn’t work too well.

10:45- Arrived at the Armory and Snacked Out HARD for the first time
At track meets, I tend to get EXTRA anxious and nervous (makes sense, right?), so regardless my huge amount of oatmeal in the morning, I was hungry when we got to the meet

I then went exploring and went into the Hall of Fame. There was an awesome wall with nutrition information for athletes and I decided to take pictures for you guys… There is a lot of really interesting info>>>
(If you can’t read them, click on them to see them closer)







About an hour later, I had another huge Snack Attack, I’m serious these meet days are bottomless pit days… I once read somewhere that you burn more calories while THINKING about exercise, than just thinking about something else… Do you think thats true? I wouldn’t be surprised: I think about jumping all day and get super hungry… But then again, the nervous thing can definitely come into play so that makes a little more sense, but who knows!?

I then took pictures of a lot of my teammates running/ jumping, and on my way back up to go sit, I realized that I’m not as ORIGINAL as I thought I was:


AHHHH! The concession stand at the armory is called “Snack & Field”… really!??! Go fig, I guess other trackies have the same pun- inspired sense of humor that I do!

Then I had a pre-competition Lunch around 2:00 (ate too much bad idea for my warm up), I ate so much because I’m used to Long jumping which normally comes before Triple, but since I only did 1 event, I had more time to kill and more food to eat!

I then ran and warmed up and got my steps down and what not. My knee was annoying during but it wasn’t too bad. But by the time I was done with all 3 of my jumps, I was frustrated and ready to ice. I grabbed an ice bag from the trainer around 5:00, and ate a Clif Bar, and changed.

By 7:00- Starvation hit me, and I went to go get some Indian Food

Tandoori Chicken, Lentils, and Channa Masala over rice…I ate about 1/2 of this and had the HUGEST STOMACH ACHE EVER. It was horrible. I think it’s because I ate wayyy to fast because I was hungry, and the chicken wasn’t that good (lots of fat and bones). So I took a break, and finished it, with an even bigger stomach ache: I am so stubborn- I had to conquer it! Do you ever feel the NEED to finish something even though your stomach hurts/ you know you feel super full arleady? I do it a lot… bad habit! haha

Oh, but I didn’t eat the rice, though. Instead, I had this:

AMAZING.


Hey, maybe Sara (and your awesome knowledge of Indian-ness) can help me figure out what this bread stuff is called- It is whole wheat, and they cook a dough blob like sideways and it heats up and forms bubbles.. I got to see them make mine. It was warm and gooey and DELICIOUS!! I enjoyed it a lot!

We ended up leaving the Armory around 9:30pm and Got back to school around 12:45… I 1/2 slept for about an hour on the bus. I got back to my room and ate this before my shower:

Bunnies make everything Better πŸ™‚


Clearly, I’m a classy college student drinking my milk out of a red Solo cup- No bigs.

So yess- welcome to the wonderful 16 Hour days of track meets! lol The past 2 meets I competed at, I did 12 jumps (with finals for long and triple) each day, as opposed to the 3 jumps I did at this meet, so it was a little different from normal. I also usually don’t have so much free time to eat so I eat my Clif Bar while jumping. I just gotta get my knee healthy so I can get back into full-caliber jumping πŸ™‚

Ahhh classes start Monday and everyone is starting to move in now!!! It’s so crazy- I’m excited though!
Have a good weekend everyone!
Michelle

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Track Meet Eats

  1. Amy

    hii!! just wanted to say that your eats look amazing and i went to state in long jump my sophmore and junior yrs of high school. i probably would have went senior yr but i developed anorexia and didnt fuel my body properly which obviously led to poor performance 😦 keep fueling your hopper πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  2. How funny that there was a sign named after your blog! πŸ˜‰ At least that’s what I would tell everyone… hehe! πŸ˜‰

    I always clean my plate even when I’m uncomfortably full. I haven’t figured out why yet, but I do need to work on it. I’m not an intuitive eater, but I am trying!!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    your eats look great.. you def go prepared πŸ™‚ it is so cool that you are a jumper- i could nEVER haha seriously!! soo funny about the snacks and field sign. good luck with classes this week.. u had dsucha long break!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  4. I WANT TRACK MEET EATS!!
    GOOD for you for being so prepared! i think thats freaking awesome you run track!! and great info about pre race eats and stuff! i always eat everything on my plate..its like a bad habit but ive tried to not eat everything and then im starvin marvin like an hour later.
    i drink out of red solo cups too!! go girl!

  5. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    hey they totally ripped off your blog name, you ARE original lol! sorry about your knee and your not so great jumps today, i think you should listen to your coach’s advice! love those meet snacks, reminds me of my swimming days *sigh*

    haha well i hope the rest of your weekend is great, ice up that knee girl!

  6. I wanted to run states at the Armory SO BAD this year. Booooo for ankles. (I am thinking about going to watch my friends though, but it might send me into a 2day depression ahha)

    I have a really sensitive stomach and for race days I was very ritual-like… I had a bagel (multigrain) and a smoothie with soymilk, banana (1/2) 1 tbsp mollasses and cinnamon. I would warm up like the whole day and if I got hungry ONLY eat pretzels. After my race my belly was still iffy so I did a clif bar, but a few hours later I loved having a really huge lunch/dinner out with my team.

    It feels so silly to write that, but seriously running (or jumping) +nerves+pushing yourself to the limit = possibly exploding stomach. πŸ˜€

  7. Sorry you fouled out! Next time girl! No worries!! You still rock in my book! Goodluck with classes tomorrow!!

  8. awww I’m sooo sorry to hear about your knee! 😦 REST that thing up! You should be icing it like a crazy person! hehe! And it take a little practice to figure out the fueling thing with sports….i used to do the same thing if I had too much time between events and was too nervous, but eventually you can focus purely on hunger cues and not brain signals of hunger. Love all the pics! Snacks&Field is sucha cute name!! xoxo!

  9. Love the idea of making “oats to go” =) I just did that the other day with some overnight oats (not planned, but because I was running super late) and it was a nice little treat for when i got to work.

    I love that you snapped pictures of the wall nutrition info…very interesting. I was especially surprised at the “114 lb girl eating 2400 cals.” That seems like A LOT to me! But I guess it’s necessary if you’re doing a lot of running. There’s another incentive for me to become a runner, huh? πŸ™‚

  10. SO COOL there’s a concession with your bloggie name!

    I’ve always wondered how you track stars eat for meets. Good to know!

    Have a great first day of classes!

  11. Ada

    I can’t believe you were at the armory, I run there quite frequently! Good job on your jumps, I’m sorry that you fouled them but I’m sure you still did amazing:)

  12. hahaah too funny about that sign!! you should tell them about your blog πŸ™‚ I sense quite a bizz coming out of that!! classes start today! good luck with them!

    I loev all the eats you packed, nice and healthy and packed with FUEL!

    college or no college, solo cups are the SHIZZ

Leave a Reply

