Running on Empty

Thank you all very much for commenting on my Fiber post from yesterday:), I’ll definitely have to agree, that as foodies like we all are, we (without a doubt) have no problem consuming enough fiber. And the “TMI” thing does not exist with me, I can completely sympathize with the stomachy-grossness feelings that we sometimes get. If your stomach can handle all those veggies(my Tolerance has grown), then by all means, go for it! But sometimes it turns into Fiber-overload, which isn’t so pleasant ;)… Okay Enough of fiber-talk!

I started off the day yesterday with typical naner oats with everything I normally put in (3/4 Oats, 1 1/2 cups milk, 1 banana, peanut butter, flaxseed, wheatgerm). I ATTEMPTED TO ADD EGG WHITES… epic fail. I looked it up online and it said to fluff ’em up in the microwave beforehand, which I did, but i just had a big, inconvenient egg blob in my oats until i took it out… Does anyone have any suggestions for adding egg whites to oats!? Greatly appreciated- I want to experience the “fluff” πŸ™‚

EGGless Oats.

Afterwards, Mommy and I went to Trader Joe’s πŸ™‚ wooo! You know you love food when you would rather have your mom take you to the [Best ever] health food store, than the mall.
I think I spent about an hour in the cereal/granola/nut butter isle alone. I had an extremely difficult time deciding which kind of cereals I wanted… I’m excited to try out my choices though!

A compilation of the purchases I will be bringing up to school with me:)


This included 2 boxes of cereal, granola, 2 containers of Soup (1 butternut squash, 1 tomato), Dark Chocolate Raisins…Dana, I know you swear by them, So I need to experience them for myself, Sunflower Seed Butter, Everything Pretzel Thins, and hummus(which unfortunately will not make it up to school because I’ll probably finish it by tomorrow).

I then got dressed and ready for practice time and had a piece of bread, and an English muffin (1/2 plain, 1/2 with the TJ’s Sunflower seed butter)
It was definitely Sunflowery- No doubt about it… I’m not sure my pallet is used to it though, Possibly something to try in Overnight Oats? hmm…

Pre-Workout Fuel


With the Sunflower Seed Butter

I then drove over to the community college on 1/4 Tank of Gas (the low fuel light didn’t go on so It was allll gooood:))
My Workout:
6 min jog/skip
22 min “warm-up” with drills ***while burping up Sunflower Seed Butter Taste: NOTE TO SELF– Don’t do that before practice ever again:)***
2 sets of 4x200m at “tempo” (70%) pace- hit 34’s, but wasn’t as consistent as I wanted them to be
6 min cool down
–>Overall, felt very good, nice and hydrated, very energized (good water, good pre-fuel: woo!)

On the walk to the car- ATE THIS:

In between Workout and Lifting: Navel Orangy goodness


I then drove (20minutes) to my high school to lift (so inconvenient) Ran for 6 minutes because I had been sitting in my car for a while,
Then Lifted for an hour>>
Bench Press, Back Squats, Split Jumps(w/ weight), Straight Leg Deadlifts, Front/Lateral/Posterior Raise (3x10lb weight, for each one= really hard, but great burn), Lower Back extension, Single Leg Squats
I stretched for about 8 Minutes after, No ABs today, I decided I’d save all my energy for today- Its gonna be a good workout:)

And tried out a new Bar:

REVIEW?Almond Brownie Balance Bar:
Post-Workout: I liked that it had 15g of protein… I’m not sure if it had the amount of Carbs I needed though:/ Would probably have to have with a piece of fruit
TASTE: Like a bad packaged brownie I once had in elementary school.. Kind of Tootsie Roll-esque with some nut pieces thrown in. ehhh, not bad, but not amazing.

Came home (Note- after driving about 45 minutes to and from the college and to the high school, I was on 1/8 tank of gas, but still no “Low Fuel” Light- soooo, it was okay)
While I waited for my brother to get out of the shower- I enjoyed 2 Large Carrots and TJ’s Hummus:)

Carrot x2, Hummus x50

I then showered up and went to dinner at Chili’s (always there while home) with a bunch of my friends, I picked up one of my friends on the way on 1/16 of gas, he said I had about 45 minutes left so I didn’t need to get gas because the restaurant is only like 7 minutes away…

I got a Ketchup with a side of Grilled Chicken Sandwich on a Whole Wheat Bun and Broccoli- Thank you Chili’s Website:

Didn't Look exactly like this, but ISH.


Imagine that picture slathered in Ketchup *just the way I like it… The piece of chicken was super small, so it was kind of disappointing but it tasted very good- especially the SautΓ©ed Onions in it.

Afterwards, We went to my friend Kristina’s house until like 12:30, chattin’ and such :)… While leaving, I asked my friend Mary to follow me home just in case I didn’t have enough gas to make it. The Gas Light had been on my this point*… I was going super slow because I was afraid my car would stop any second. Luckily, I made it. But it’s never been this low, and I am kind of afraid it’s not gonna turn on when I try going out later, But here’s to hoping!

Have a wonderful day, Everyone! πŸ™‚
Michelle

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Running on Empty

  1. lol i did that with my egg whites first too!
    now i add them BEFORE i cook and they cook with the oats πŸ™‚
    is 3/4 way more filling than 1/2 cup? i may have to start doing that!

  2. I LOVE eggy oats!!! I have some posts on it. I think one of them is in my recipes section. AHHH LOVE!!!

  3. Dana

    hitting up trader joes in like an hour actually lol…loveeee the purchases! and so true…trader joes>mall. in high school i had an obsession with either cookie dough or peanut butter balance bars but after half of one the taste gets overwhelming but i ate the entire thing anyway of course hahaha i was a powerbar tank before meets.

    ps. just rediscovered my love for raw nuts (thats what she said? hehe)…walnuts to be exact…and i thought youd be so proud of me πŸ™‚

    im kind of scared to try eggs/eggwhites in oats…must. experiment…

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    sorry the eggs in the oats didnt really work out, i want ot try it too!! trader joes πŸ˜€ ilove those pretzel thins & tjs has the best hummus!! sounds like u had a fun night!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. Girl, ketchup makes ERRYTHING BETTER!!!!!!!! I’m a slatherer myself…ketchup, hummus, mustard, balsamic vinegar, whateverrrr. πŸ™‚
    And Trader Joe’s (or Trader Ho’s I like to call it…and saying it with a Spanish accent) is so bomb, I literally go there like three times a week!

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    i’ve been curious about adding egg whites to oats too, at least now i know NOT to cook them before hand ;). yay for TJs shopping trips with mom! those are the best

  7. Inspirational training montage for you πŸ˜‰
    The distance runners on my college team used to joke that all you jumpers do is hang out on the mats, and play in the sand!… meanwhile we’d run circles around ya!
    Obviously you weren’t on my team, because your workout is NO JOKE!

    What are your goals? are you more LJ or TJ? I’m pretty much obsessed with T&F… and love ALLL the events! I breathe the sport.

    • Love the Rocky vid!
      And I’m definitely more TJ, I really only do long for points and training, its something I don’t practice but just do for fun:) But my goal for Triple is 40′ this year… I too am obsessed and it’s SOO great to have another Track & Field lover in the blogging community!! I envy you distance girls though, I couldn’t do 90% of those workouts!

  8. Yes!!!! You MUST add the sunflower seed butter to some overnight oats. The sweetness pairs perfectly with the tart-ish yogurt, oats and other fruit, etc! πŸ™‚

    Oh and I am loving the looks of that grocery haul. I used to eat that banana nut cereal all the time, growing up…and i’ve just recently tried that lowfat granola and its honestly PERFECTION. It tastes like CAKE, i’m not even kidding!! The hummus and everything pretzel slims are pretty fab choices too–gah i just love it all! ENJOY IT!! hahah

  9. I actually have an egg white oatmeal tutorial on my blog! If you look under my recipe page it’s there.. it works everytime for me! πŸ™‚

  10. I haven’t tried it yet but I have heard of mixing in 1/4 cup egg whites to your oats on the stove while cooking and keep stirring!
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

